Go to Top

Speakers and Moderators

The following speakers presented at the 2021 UNM Business and Economic Summit on January 12, 2021. Click the names below for the bio of the speaker.

Keynote Speaker: Michael Crow, Ph.D., President, Arizona State University

Dr. Michael M. Crow is an educator, knowledge enterprise architect, science and technology policy scholar and higher education leader. He became the sixteenth president of Arizona State University in July 2002 and has spearheaded ASU’s rapid and groundbreaking transformative evolution into one of the world’s best public metropolitan research universities. As a model “New American University,” ASU simultaneously demonstrates comprehensive excellence, inclusivity representative of the ethnic and socioeconomic diversity of the United States, and consequential societal impact.

Lauded as the ”#1 most innovative” school in the nation by U.S. News & World Report (2016-2020), ASU is a student-centric, technology-enabled university focused on complex global challenges related to sustainability, economic competitiveness, social embeddedness, entrepreneurship and global engagement. Under Dr. Crow’s leadership, ASU has established twenty-five new transdisciplinary schools, including the School of Earth and Space Exploration, the School for the Future of Innovation in Society and the School of Human Evolution and Social Change, and launched trailblazing multidisciplinary initiatives including the Biodesign Institute, the Julie Ann Wrigley Global Institute of Sustainability, and important initiatives in the humanities and social sciences.

Other Speakers Include (Click to see bio):

Mayor Timothy M. Keller, City of Albuquerque

Garnett S. Stokes, Ph.D., President, University of New Mexico

Rob Black, President & CEO, New Mexico Chamber of Commerce

Ted Abernathy, Principal & Founder, Economic Leadership

Dan Arvizu, Ph.D., Chancellor, New Mexico State University

Van Romero, Ph.D., Vice President for Research, New Mexico Tech University

Colonel Eric Felt, Ph.D., Commander of the Phillips Research Site & Director, Space Vehicles Directorate, Air Force Research Laboratory

Kelly D. Hammett, Ph.D., Director, Directed Energy Directorate, Air Force Research Laboratory

Thomas (Thom) Mason, Ph.D., CEO of Triad National Security & Director, Los Alamos National Laboratory

Scott Aeilts, Associate Labs Director and Chief Financial Officer, Sandia National Laboratories

Jon Clark, Deputy Cabinet Secretary, New Mexico Economic Development


Mitzi Montoya, Ph.D., Dean, Anderson School of Management, UNM

James Holloway, Ph.D., Provost & Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, UNM

Lisa Kuuttila, CEO & Chief Economic Development Officer, UNM Rainforest Innovations

Tracey Bryan, President/CEO, The Bridge of Southern New Mexico

Richard Anklam, President, New Mexico Tax Research Institute

Mathis Shinnick, CEO, OptiPulse, Inc.

Waneta Tuttle, Manager, Tramway Venture Partners