UNM Rainforest Innovations

IMG_1208-edited-squareA new Rainforest Innovation Fellow wall has been installed at the Lobo Rainforest Building. This wall is to recognize the hard work and significant accomplishments of the thirteen Rainforest Innovation Fellows selected to date and those who will be honored in the future.

The UNM Rainforest Innovations Board of Directors created this award in 2010 to honor annually a University of New Mexico inventor whose body of technologies has generated significant commercialization activities. Based on achievements in new technologies disclosed, patents received, license and option agreements entered into, new companies started and income generated from these technologies, the Rainforest Innovation Fellow Board Committee evaluates and selects an Innovation Fellow.

The social and economic impact of the awardee’s technologies in the marketplace is important. New technologies resulting in substantial benefit to the public may have the most valuable impact on society. The Rainforest Innovation Fellow Award is recognition of that impact.

The Rainforest Innovation Fellows to date include:

  • 2010 – Steven R.J. Brueck
  • 2011 – Larry A. Sklar, Ph.D.
  • 2012 – Stephen D. Hersee, Ph.D.
  • 2013 – Graham S. Timmins, Ph.D.
  • 2014 – Plamen B. Atanassov, Ph.D
  • 2015 – C. Jeffrey Brinker, Ph.D.
  • 2015 – Cheryl Willman, M.D.
  • 2016 – Gabriel P. Lopez, Ph.D.
  • 2017 – Bryce Chackerian, Ph.D.
  • 2017 – David Peabody, Ph.D.
  • 2018 – Sang M. Han, Ph.D.
  • 2019 – Angela Wandinger-Ness, Ph.D.
  • 2020 – David G. Whitten, Ph.D.
Skip to content