UNM Rainforest Innovations

The 2022 National Academy of Inventors Induction ceremony took place on June 14 and 15 at the Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass in Phoenix, Arizona. Among the inductees were four University of New Mexico faculty accepting awards for their NAI Fellow status: 2021 Fellow Dr. David G. Whitten, 2020 Fellow Dr. Larry Sklar (who was unable to attend the ceremony in-person), and 2019 Fellows Dr. Bryce Chackerian and Dr. David Peabody.

Election and induction into the NAI Fellow Program is considered a high professional distinction among academic inventors who have demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and the welfare of society.

All fellows were nominated by the UNM Rainforest Innovations Board of Directors for this national honor.

Learn more about the fellows here:

Watch the full Fellows Induction Ceremony here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6vjmabf0JaA

Skip to content